This book covers the Israelite military campaign in the Promised Land under the leadership of Joshua. When the land is conquered, it is divided among the Israelite tribes.

  • [Addition: Introduction to Joshua.]
  • [Addition: Joshua in Exodus and Numbers.]
  • Joshua 1: Joshua assumes command.
  • Joshua 2: Joshua’s spies meet Rahab in Jericho.
  • Joshua 3: The Israelites cross the Jordan river.
  • Joshua 4: Twelve stones serve as a memorial of the crossing.
  • Joshua 5: Mass circumcision and meeting the divine army commander.
  • Joshua 6: The Israelites defeat Jericho by miracle.
  • Joshua 7: The first (unsuccessful) attack on Ai, and Achan’s error.
  • Joshua 8: The second (successful) attack on Ai.
  • Joshua 9: The Gibeonite ruse.
  • Joshua 10: Conquest in the south, and the sun stands still.
  • Joshua 11: Conquest in the north.
  • Joshua 12: Summary of Israelite victories.
  • Joshua 13: List of territories yet to be conquered, as well as lands given to Reuben, Gad, and half of Manasseh.
  • Joshua 14: Territory allotted to Caleb.
  • Joshua 15: Territory allotted to Judah, and Aksah’s marriage to Othniel.
  • Joshua 16: Territory allotted to Ephraim.
  • Joshua 17: Territory allotted to the second half of Manasseh, and the tribe of Joseph complains.
  • Joshua 18: Territory allotted to Benjamin.
  • Joshua 19: Territory allotted to Simeon, Zebulun, Issachar, Asher, Naphtali, Dan, and to Joshua.
  • Joshua 20: Appointment of the cities of refuge.
  • Joshua 21: Other cities given to the Levites.
  • Joshua 22: The tribes of Reuben, Gad, and Manasseh build a memorial altar.
  • Joshua 23: Joshua calls together all the elders for a final speech.
  • Joshua 24: The covenant is renewed and Joshua dies.
  • [Addition: Closing thoughts on Joshua.]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *